Lost your password? Please enter your email address. You will receive a link to create a new password.

Back to log-in


Plus icon:

Service Lifecycle: Continual Service Improvement

Certification Program (CSI)

Create value by focusing on the metrics and factors that result in continuous improvement and identify improvement opportunities.



One of the modules in the ITIL® Intermediate Lifecycle stream that leads to the ITIL® Expert Certificate in IT Service Management qualification, the ITIL® Continual Service Improvement (CSI) certification focuses on how processes can ensure ongoing improvements and deliver results and customer satisfaction. CSI practices help businesses adapt and evolve to growing demands and changes in businesses. The ITIL® CSI tools and techniques are geared towards evaluating the risks and success factors associated with improvements and how these activities can help improve efficiencies and returns on investment for organizations.

This intensive examination is a reflection of your knowledge of industry best practices in service management as documented in the ITIL® Continual Service Improvement publication. Xebia Academy’s workshop will help you aim for a first time clearance of this exam with extensive coaching in-depth courseware, detailed exercises and sample papers that cover all objectives of the exam. Earning this qualification is mandatory to achieving the ITIL® Expert designation. So enrol today and start your ascent towards becoming an ITIL®‘Guru’


Continual Service Improvement training is provided by SkillMetrix, accredited by PeopleCert.  ITIL Continual Service Improvement is a [registered] trade mark of AXELOS Limited. All rights reserved.

Course Curriculum

  • Continual Service Improvement

    • Purpose, Objectives, and Scope
    • Business Value
    • CSI Approach
    • Context of CSI within the Service Lifecycle
    • Inputs and Outputs
  • CSI Principles

    • CSI Success Depends on Understanding Change within an Organization
    • CSI Success Depends on Clear Ownership and Accountability
    • How the CSI Register Supports CSI
    • CSI is Driven and Influenced by Service Level Management
    • Importance of Knowledge Management and the Deming Cycle to CSI
    • CSI Used to Ensure Effective Governance
    • Frameworks, Models, Standards, and Quality Systems Supporting CSI
  • Seven-Step Improvement Process

    • Purpose, Objectives, and Scope
    • Business Value
    • Policies, Principles, and Basic Concepts
    • Process Activities, Methods, and Techniques
    • Triggers, Inputs, Outputs, and Process Interfaces
    • Other Processes Support the Seven-Step Improvement Process
  • CSI Methods and Techniques

    • Assessments
    • Gap Analysis
    • Benchmarking
    • Service and Process Measurement
    • Metrics and Measurement Frameworks
    • Calculating Return on Investment
    • Service Reporting Policies and Principles
    • How Availability Management, Capacity Management, IT Service Continuity Management, Problem Management, and Knowledge Management Support CSI
  • Organization for CSI

    • Service Owners
    • Process Owner and Process Managers
    • Process Practitioners
    • CSI Manager
    • The Nature of the Seven-Step Improvement Process Activities and the Skills Required
    • CSI Manager vs. Other Supporting Roles
    • How Responsibility, Accountability, Consultancy, or Informational (RACI) Models Can Be Used to Clarify Roles and Responsibilities for CSI
  • Technology Considerations for CSI

    • IT Service Management Suites
    • Systems and Network Management Tools
    • Event management
    • Automated Incident/Problem Resolution
    • Performance Management
    • Statistical Analysis Tools
    • Project and Portfolio Management Tools
    • Financial Management Tools
    • Business Intelligence and Reporting Tools
  • Implementing CSI

    • Critical Considerations and Where to Start
    • Role of Governance to CSI
    • Effect of Organizational Change for CSI
    • Communication Strategies and Plans
  • Challenges, CSFs, and Risks

    • Challenges Facing CSI
    • CSFs for CSI
    • Risks Associated with Implementing CSI
  • Exam Preparation/Mock Exam


Continual Service Improvement training is provided by SkillMetrix, accredited by PeopleCert.  ITIL Continual Service Improvement is a [registered] trade mark of AXELOS Limited. All rights reserved.


In order to attend the workshop, you must have:

  • ITIL® Foundation Certificate in IT Service Management or an earlier ITIL® (V2) Foundation plus Foundation Bridge

In order to appear for the examination participants must:

  • Have completed an accredited 21-hour course from an ITIL® Accredited Training Provider, such as this course provided by Xebia
  • Hold the ITIL® Foundation Certificate in IT Service Management (or other appropriate earlier ITIL® and bridge qualifications)


In order to achieve ITIL® Continual Service Improvement, candidates must appear for the exam and gain 70% pass mark.

The Exam:

  • 90 minute ‘closed book’
  • Eight multiple choice, scenario-based questions
  • Pass mark is 70% (28/40)


Contact Us
+1 (404) 448 1275

Traning For:
Enroll Now
Become a Trainer
Love to educate people about your favorite subject? Create your own online course with Xebia.

Start Teaching

For Corporates
Develop your workforce with the right skills. We train and engage your people with highly skillful training programs.

Get Xebia for Business